top of page

Going in circles.

This evening I had some time to myself before Mr. Gold got home. I ended up participating in a change.schools video zoom, chat with Bryan and Carry. It was an hour well spent.

The thing is, I would not have done the zoom session if Mr. Gold was here, I would have gone to my normal evening routine (which would have been amazing, and this is not about comparison). I was expecting to meet him at his work and for us to ride home together and have a great night, as usual. When he told me he had passion plans, it changed the course of my night and gave my routine a gentle stir. The evening had just opened up. I had to now choose what I would do as the normal would not be done.

I could do my nails, or I could buy a cute dress for the principal meeting. Ohhh I could go get a pair of boots, or go to the drugstore because there is always something to buy at duane reade/rite aid/wallgreens!

No, stop. I will go home, order a turkey burger and get on this zoom session.

So, that is what happened. My husband did something different, then I went and did something different and talked to a group of people who are trying to do something different with our system of schooling. Not only am I appreciative, I am excited by those who have the courage to attempt change. Change is a process, a journey; it takes some time, or it would just be called a flip or something else that indicates immediacy. I appreciate those people taking one step at a time on the road.

I was just thinking about my thinking and thought "I guess this is the time of year when most people I know are probably thinking about restarts and beginnings... changes." Maybe this is just all coming up because of the new year, but I will take it. I am full of gratitude to those who take advantage of an opportunity to do something different. It helped me meet my husband, it is helping him be his healthiest self, it has helped us move physically closer to our family and eventually it will make our family even bigger.

Thank you to all of the change school folks for being a bright light in the dark, (and Bryan for not changing and being grounded in his determination to learn more).

I am thankful for the many people who have taken steps in the name of change. It is because of you that I am Gold and I can often feel, if not see the outlines of the path you have created for me to change direction...

bottom of page