top of page

That time of year!

Tonight, I want to appreciate my mom... and The Salsoul Orchestra. Their Christmas Jollies album makes me reminisce on my childhood in the Harlem, Polo Grounds. My brother and I labored through this album on repeat at a time when repeat meant she kept flipping the cassette tape from side A to side B... We hid the tape one year and shared the story with her once we were both grown.

I love my Niece! She has always been my source. We have a special relationship that has grown into more than mother and daughter. We travel together every year and brunch most weekends. My Niece is a lesson in resiliency everyday. She is the reason why I love music, which is what I am currently listening to and the reason I can gift wrap a present, which is what I am about to do, so basically she taught me everything! I doubt if there is anyone that knows her who could not come up with a many a fond and funny memory about my mother. My brother and I eventually bought her a cd of the Jollies, which I am sue I will hear in a couple of days.

I have grown to love this album and it solidifies "this" time of the year for me. Niecey, you have solidified me. Count this as the first of many small opportunities I will take to appreciate all my mother has done for me. Niece, I am Gold because of you!

bottom of page